Experience & Feel

Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Church of the Blessed Virgin Mary

 

According to legend, the chapel used to be the older Parish Church of St. Lovro, which over time became the regional chapel of the Margečan parish. However, archival documents reveal a different story.

The old chapel was replaced by a new one between 1760 and 1765, and during the demolition a walled-in statue of the Mother of God was found, which led to the construction of a new chapel in honor of the Blessed Virgin. The present appearance of the baroque chapel dates from the 19th century, part of the altar is from the same period, and the wall paintings depict scenes of the Annunciation, the Meeting of Mary and Elizabeth, and the Miracles of Our Lady of Radovan.

The main altar is architecturally shaped and made of wood with marble decorations and gilding. Particularly interesting and valuable is the wooden Gothic statue of Mary with Jesus found in the wall of the chapel, known as the Virgin Mary the Guide. There is a beautiful positive from 1777 in the choir, a valuable monument of organ-making.