Experience & Feel

Church of St. Margaret

Church of St. Margaret


This beautiful church has a rich history that goes back a long way. It was mentioned for the first time in 1431. In a document dated June 6, 1431, the Zagreb Chapter reported to ban Herman Celjski that, according to the ban's order, they determined the boundaries of Jakob Gotal's "Gotalovec" property. In 1551, the priest Stjepan of Bela was mentioned.

The history of the Margečan parish has been more systematically recorded since 1638, when Archdeacon of Varaždin, Petar Oškoci, visited the parish. It was then learned that the church had been built built on the Petheö property with wooden altars, a choir and a pulpit. Today's church of St. Margaret was built in the 19th century.

The interior of the church is decorated with beautiful wooden altars, a pulpit and an organ in the historicist style from the 19th century. On the southern wall of the sanctuary, there is a memorial plaque dedicated by Metel Ožegović Barlabaševački to his father Stjepan.

This church also has interesting examples of ritual objects, including a beautiful display made of gilded silver with semi-precious stones and the oldest ciborium made of gilded silver from 1670.