Audio guide




This beautiful church has a rich history that goes back a long way.

It was first mentioned in 1431. In that document dated June 6, 1431, the Zagreb Chapter reported to ban Herman Celjski that, according to the ban's order, they determined the boundaries of Jakob Gotal’s Gotalovec estate. In 1551, the priest from Bela, Stjepan, was mentioned.

The history of the Margečan parish has been more systematically recorded since 1638, when Archdeacon of Varaždin Petar Oškoci visited the parish. It was then learned that the church had been built on the property of the Petheös, with wooden altars, a choir and a pulpit. Today's baroque church of St. Margaret was built in the 19th century.

The interior of the church is decorated with beautiful wooden altars, a pulpit and an organ in the historicist style from the 19th century. On the southern wall of the sanctuary, there is a memorial plaque dedicated by Metel Ožegović Barlabasevački to his father Stjepan.

This church also has interesting examples of ritual objects, including a beautiful monstrance made of gilded silver with semi-precious stones and the oldest ciborium made of gilded silver from 1670.